Rose debug info

Will the World Champion grab his 8th Tata Steel Chess victory?

The 2022 Tata Steel Chess Tournament is ready to kick-start on the 14th of January in Wijk aan Zee, Netherlands. It is one of the most reputable over-the-board tournaments, which attracts the world’s chess elite, like the World Champion Magnus Carlsen, 2018 Challenger Fabiano Caruana, the tournament’s ambassador GM Anish Giri, and the 2021 Tata Steel Winner GM Jorden van Foreest.

The games begin on the 15th of January with rest days on the 19th, 24th, and 27th of the month. It is a single round-robin, and all 14 participants play each other once for a total of 13 rounds.

Last year’s winner was the Dutch GM Jorden van Foreest, the first Dutch winner of the tournament since GM Jan Timman in 1985. The 22-year-old GM defeated his compatriot GM Anish Giri in the playoff after both had finished on 8.5/13.

From 1938 to 2021, Carlsen has won 7 Tata Steel Tournaments, with GMs Jorden van Foreest, Fabiano Caruana, Wesley So, Levon Aronian, and Hikaru Nakamura being the other winners of the tournament the past 10 years.

Will the World Champion win his 8th Tata Steel trophy? Watch the Tournament online, on the 15th of January at 13:00 UTC:

Subscribe to this blog
 1229   2022   Broadcast   Main feature   Tata Steel